Emma’s Story

I’m married and got pregnant, but it’s not my husbands. We split up over a year ago and I started seeing someone else after discovering that he had a girlfriend. We’ll I found out that I’m pregnant and right when I found out I could let myself be happy, I couldn’t accept it because the guy i was dating was separated from him wife. To many people would be hurt by this and I’m not the type of person who takes someones feelings lightly. So I scheduled an abortion for the following week and when I pulled up to plan parenthood there were protestors outside with signs yelling. I sat in the parking lot thinking about going in and I couldn’t do it. I have a 4-year-old son, so what makes this baby any less mine? What makes it not as special? Or makes it undeserving of love? It didn’t ask for this. It didn’t ask for us as parent’s, all it needs is love. I pulled out of the parking lot confident that I had made the right choice. I told the father that i was keeping it and he was so happy, he supported me in whatever i decided no matter what. I told my husband and he was upset but understood that the same thing could have happened to him. Now that a few weeks have gone by he is a complete jerk about it. He said I should get an abortion and he could get me pregnant and that girls who get pregnant by more than one man are ridiculous and they should be embarrassed. When i first found out i was pregnant I tried not to have any emotions about it because I wasn’t planning on keeping it. Now that I am, I’m trying so hard to fight through all of this negativity and be happy but when you have people tearing you down at every turn it gets overwhelming fast. I’m not ashamed of getting pregnant, I love my son and I’m happy to be giving him a sibling. I feel brave for fighting for this little person and making this decision to have it. I don’t have any regrets in that.

Leave a Reply

