Heather’s Story

I found out I was pregnant four weeks after a company Christmas party in which I became very intoxicated and slept with a coworker. He had lied to me and told me that he and his girlfriend had broken up. When I told him I was pregnant, he questioned paternity and his girlfriend wanted me to abort. I’m a devout Catholic, though I hadn’t been to church in some time, and knew that the baby inside me was a life. I am extremely blessed to say that I now have an almost 4-year-old daughter who is my world. Her father chose not to see her and I chose not to pursue child support. I have a wonderful job where I have worked for six years. My daughter has everything she needs and wants. I recently purchased a home in the town where I grew up and where my family lives.

I suffered severe postpartum depression which at one time made me want to take both my daughter’s and my life. I also suffered a hemorrhage after my c-section that caused me to lose 75% of my blood and has likely left me unable to carry any more children. If not for my family and a great team of doctors, my daughter and I would likely be dead.

I am blessed with a wonderful support system who has stood by me. The grace of God saved me and now we attend Mass weekly and love going to additional church activities. My church family has accepted me, a single mom, faults and all.

I am not courageous. My support system is courageous. They stood by me, took care of my baby when I was too ill after birth and again when I suffered debilitating depression and didn’t want to get out of bed, let alone hold my child. I thank God for them and credit them for being instruments of God’s grace.

One thought on “Heather’s Story

  1. Your story was very touching.. I had a kid at just 17years old just before my final 12th grade exams. My boyfriend of two years at the time was extremely supportive until 3/4 months laterwhere he decided to leave me hanging and not support our kid… I Have decided to cut him off and take care of my daughter on my own.. I suffer from severe depression yet I struggle to open up to any close ones around me . I struggle to also get over my trauma and missing out on the life all my friends are living now because I can’t afford to be a teen.. I’m currently looking for a job to get up on my feet again but I do have tearful nights most nights. I’m almost 20 and I have a picture in my head ofturning my life around and building a great future for myself and my daughter but the pain i feel is unbearable especially cause my family isnt very emotionally supportive, they literally just turn their heads away when they see me . no one bothers to ask how im feeling or tell me that its not the end of the world.

    Its difficult

Leave a Reply

