Layla’s Story

I became pregnant at 15 by my 17-year-old boyfriend. Amazingly, that boyfriend is now my husband of 15 years! When I found out I was pregnant my grandma sent me to a center to talk me out of an abortion. I never planned to have one but the pregnancy center became a huge help to me during the next few years. Being 15 & pregnant was hard, especially during driver’s Ed when I was very sick. But I persevered & got my license. Several months later I had a son! He was jaundice & had to stay in the hospital for 4 days but was healthy enough to go home after that. I took him home to my mom’s house but that didn’t last long. A week later she ended up in the hospital because she and her boyfriend were beating on each other. I knew I didn’t want my son to grow up like that. The 2 of us moved in with my boyfriend & his dad. His dad helped us get a place of our own & I continued to go to high school while my boyfriend worked. I started working when my son was 10 months old. Through my school I was able to get a co-op job in my area of interest. That was a huge help but also a huge struggle trying to finish high school & work & take care of my son & our home. Sometimes I didn’t see my son for a day or more at a time. I missed so many classes that they were going to hold me back but I appealed the decision with a letter of explanation & since my grades were good they let me pass & graduate! When my son was just about 2 years old my boyfriend & I got married. We wanted to be a family for however much time God gave us on this earth. My son is now starting his Senior year in high school & I’m so thankful for all the people who made everything possible & helped me to press on. I’m so thankful for my husband who has taken care of us & works hard to do so even though he dropped out of high school. He has gone back to school, got his GED & now has a Master’s degree from Liberty University. We are blessed to have had 2 more children as well 🙂

2 thoughts on “Layla’s Story

  1. I think I am going to become a parent too. Me and my girlfriend are barely 15 years. I’m scared… What am I going to tell my family, my friends, I don’t know what to do, and abortion is not an option. So I came here, seeking for advice, thank you for the inspiration!:’)

Leave a Reply

