Diane’s Story

At 47 I had been home with my children for 20 years and decided to go back to work as a pharmacist. We needed my income. I accepted a retail pharmacy job in November with a start date of December 7th. December 6th, I had a positive pregnancy test. I was in denial.  A full 95% of pregnancies at that advanced maternal age are miscarried in the first trimester. My 15-year-old daughter was really excited to be a big sister, but I kept telling her, “Don’t get your hopes up!”
At 12 weeks, I decided to make an appointment with my OB. With the sonogram, I was a full 12 weeks. I decided that I really might have a baby. At 18 weeks they did a detailed anatomy sonogram. The baby had a cystic hygroma. There was a 99% chance that she would not make it and she almost certainly had a chromosomal abnormality. I refused an amniocentesis. She had enough battles to fight and I didn’t want anything else to decrease her odds of survival. God doesn’t make mistakes. I would love her just as she was. The perinatologist told me that he thought she had a fatal trisomy, either Trisomy 18 or Trisomy 13. I prayed that he was wrong and that I would have a daughter to hold for a lifetime. Near the end of the 2nd trimester, her cystic hygroma resolved. If she didn’t have a fatal trisomy, she might live. At 34 weeks, I developed pre-eclampsia and they induced labor. Still not sure that I would hold a live child for long, I awaited her arrival. She was born kicking and screaming, a beautiful sound. I held my breath hoping that she did not have a fatal Trisomy. The neonatologist came in after a few minutes and told me that he thought she had Turner’s Syndrome. These girls live full happy lives. They generally are infertile and must have growth hormones to achieve a normal height and female hormones to go through puberty, but they have normal to above average intelligence. They can have heart and kidney problems, but Isabella escaped those. She is a healthy happy 3-year-old now and the joy of our lives!

Leave a Reply

