Rebekah’s Story

My parents split up when I was 12. That was the start of my downward spiral. I began to drink to the point of passing out and smoking pot. My newly single mother was discovering the joys of dating again so I was completely unsupervised. I became sexually active at 14 when I started dating my 20 yo boyfriend. I missed 48 days of school in the eighth grade so he started taking me to school everyday to make sure I went. My mother allowed him to move into my bedroom. I felt my life was without hope. I didn’t want to be with this man but he took care of me and bought me clothes. I became pregnant at the age of 15. I immediately quit school in the ninth grade and married my boyfriend. He made 6.00 an hour. We did not go on assistance. We moved into his parents old house rent free in the middle of nowhere. I did not have a phone, car or air conditioning and we lived in Florida!  I had NO help raising my baby. My mother moved to another city and that really devastated me. I decided that I would get my GED and graduated on time!  Having my daughter was one of the best things that ever happened to me!  It wasn’t easy but I now had meaning to my life. Her dad and I split after 7 years of marriage and I was a young single mom for almost 10 years. My daughter was the first female in several generations to not be a teen mom and now has her nursing degree. I am so proud of who she is and what she has accomplished. I feel we beat the statistics!

Leave a Reply

