Margaret’s Story

The year after Roe was decided I found myself pregnant unexpectedly. I had a 5-year-old and a 7-month old. I had just begun my “dream job”: teaching nursing with a large community college system. My husband had quit working 2 months previous in order to finish his undergraduate degree. Needless to say, it couldn’t have been at a worse time in my life and in our life as a family. My doctor offered to abort the baby, but how could I do that? My primary nursing specialty was obstetrics! I knew this was not a blob of tissue. This was a unique human being: never to be repeated again.
We committed ourselves to God, to our family and to this new baby. Was it difficult? Absolutely! But we managed by faith and with the help of God, expressed through our family, friends and church. Was it worth it? I can’t begin to tell you how worth it is was and is. That young man has been a joy every day of his life, as have his two “planned” brothers.  He is now practicing a profession, married to my sweet daughter-in-love and has twin children of his own, who are a joy in my life as well.  I have never, ever regretted the decision I made nor the cost of that decision. Every time I look at my son and his family, I thank God for them and what He is doing in them and through them.

Leave a Reply

