Donna’s Story

I was just 15 when I found out I was pregnant. (15 years ago now 🙂 I came from a single mother house hold and really didn’t have any rules to follow,  except to have an abortion should I find myself pregnant. I was pregnant almost my entire grade 10 year, and had my daughter in the summer before grade 11. My babies dad was “around” but our relationship was not a positive one and ended before our baby turned 1. His parents were extremely supportive and made it alot easier to hold my head up through all the name calling and dirty looks. I finished high school with a bit of difficulty,  while working until midnight or later at least 5  nights a week.  It was a long 2 years, eventually things came together,  I was employed and raising my little girl.  I then met my husband, who loves my daughter as his own child. We had 3 more children,  and I now live the happy moderate life that I strived for as a child. I am a stay at home mom and have everything I need and a lot of what I want 🙂 Having a child at 15 didn’t harm my body, and it didn’t take away my childhood,  I  have the best life, and am really grateful for my daughter who has taught me so much about life. She is extremely intelligent,  (finishing the very top of her class this year), plays on sports teams, and has a part time job she wanted and got on her own. My point is, you never know who you are going to end up raising,  and who you get the privilege to raise is always going to be the best choice,  even if you choose to give someone else the privilege to raise your child,  that child is still going to be the best choice 🙂

Leave a Reply

