Raquel’s Story

My first son, Ian was unplanned. His father and I had only been in a relationship for less than six months when we found out. Both of us were finishing college, and neither ready for children. Initially, his father stated that he wasn’t ready, but that he’d like to stay with me. I had no intention of snuffing out the life within me because of our reckless behavior. I felt that if you’re going to do “grown up” activities then responsibility follows. I made it clear that he could choose me and baby, but not just me. After a few days of soul searching he asked me to come over to his apartment after school. I really thought it was to pick up some items left there. Instead he sat with me on the couch, looked me in the eyes and said “I would like to raise this baby with you”. It was life changing and relationship building. It took courage for him to do that and i had only the highest regard for the sacrifice he was making. We’re still together, and just recently brought our second son into the world five years later. Glory to God. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

